Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods failed plug weld attempts

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by old_chevy, Jul 22, 2020.

1. old_chevy

old_chevy
    from USA

I'm a newbie trying to plug weld on some scrap 18 gauge metal. I know to have clean metal and to degrease. Im using a mig and start in the middle of a 5/16 in whole. it takes me two circles and im still not completely filling the whole. So when I grind there is a lip from the hole when flush. is this expected? I think I'm failing to do this correctly.

2. Mr T body

Mr T body
    Alliance Vendor
    from BHC AZ

I'm hardly an expert, but when I plug weld I start at the edge and swirl my way to the center. The center doesn't really hold anything, so making sure the perimeter has good penetration is important. Consider going to 3/8" as it's a bit easier to get into the edge with a slightly larger hole.
    May not be text book, but works for me.

73RR, squirrel and Just Gary like this.
  3. X2
    Also try increasing your voltage & wire speed settings to get more molten metal into the hole.

Bandit Billy likes this.
  4. ekimneirbo

ekimneirbo

What size wire are you using? 18 gage is pretty thin. If you are using .030 wire, its a little iffy for something that thin. Might want to try some .023 wire. If you do, change the liner,tip,and drive rolls.

5. two couped up

two couped up
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from pa.

I start the weld on the edge of the hole and finish in the center.

49ratfink and Just Gary like this.
  6. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

Mig is a fast freezing rather cold starting process.

Sometimes if you try spot welding a small hole the hole is filled up before the metal at the bottom of the hole is hot enough to get any melting action and you end up with no fusion.

The way to cure that is to set up the voltage hot enough that you will almost burn through the 18 gauge when you hit the trigger.