Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Are any of your high School friends still involved with Hot Rods & Customs?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by HOTRODPRIMER, Jun 17, 2020.

1. Oldb

Oldb

Graduated in 73. There was a group of five or six of us that spent a lot of time at the drag strip. None of them are still into cars, most of my car friends now are older, and were part of the 60's generation before me. A great bunch of guys who saw it all first hand, the whole American Graffiti thing that I just missed.
    B

HOTRODPRIMER likes this.
  2. There were very few that were even into old cars when I graduated, but the few that were made up my main group of friends. About half of the half dozen or so out of a class of 900 are still into cars and some still have the ones they had in high school. I’m probably the main idiot who has stayed the course as much as anyone although I have been through 100 or so other old cars after selling the ones I drove in high school ...

I haven’t ever gone to a class reunion since the few car friends I had are still guys I run into without having to spend lots of money and dressing funny to compare how successful we all ended up. Since I was into cars and that was somewhat dying off as something kids messed with in school, most of my friends were older anyway...kind of like today.

HOTRODPRIMER likes this.
  3. olcurmdgeon

olcurmdgeon

I graduated in '60. Small high school, 42 kids in my class. Couple of guys into cars like I was, only one I know is still with us but not into cars. Went to Morrisville Ag and Tech in NY post high school toms chassis.JPG as an auto tech. Lot of guys in my class were big into hot rods but most no longer are I guess. One exception is a good friend who is currently building a nailhead powered '33 Ford 3W. Here a chassis pic before it gets blown apart for paint. I am still very interested in all things automotive but physically not able to do much anymore.