Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical ***April 2020 Banger Meet Thread - Shelter in Shop***

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Jiminy, Mar 31, 2020.

1. murf 32

murf 32

I don't think so. nice spark to points and no pitting or marks. I'm going to change them once I get a new set after the lock down. Thanks for the reply I'm going to try all suggestions. I'm still learning

2. poshdbs

poshdbs

When I first drove mine (after importing) down the drive it was fine but could I get back up the drive? Spluttered and banged and hardly drove! Condenser had failed just like that! Worth a check...

Sent from my SM-A320FL using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

3. murf 32

murf 32

Thanks poshdbs
    I'm going to see if the local motor factors is open they used to open on Sunday or if they are even open at all .Don't worry I'm keeping within the 2k radius. Thank you and stay safe. Murf

poshdbs likes this.
  4. winduptoy

winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

@murf 32 Lets see if I can get my head around this. The B timing cover is drilled so it is something like 9 degrees cam advance from the A timing cover. That 9 degrees cam advance is 18 degrees distributor advance. So you need to rotate the rotor and cam in the direction of rotation, some 19 degrees, from where you would time an engine with an A cover when you static time it.
    Did I state that in an understandable way?

Last edited: Apr 26, 2020
  5. winduptoy

winduptoy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Been working on a messed up rear fender on the Vicky...body work sure does take time....I guess that is why I'm a leg man
    1587917392822.jpeg

Sent from my XT1585 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

6. murf 32

murf 32

I think so.
    It has a B cover on it. I have it nearly there.I think. I will try what you were suggesting. I was hoping there was like a nurex magic timing tool for the B. Lol. Just got a new condenser also. Thanks for all your help. Murf