Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Impact wrench - repair or replace?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dave Downs, Apr 20, 2020.

1. Dave Downs

Dave Downs
    from S.E. Penna

A5F16D84-810A-47A7-B66F-67D9567F3B27.jpeg I have a NAPA impact wrench I’ve been using for 30+ years that suddenly stopped working. It sounds like it is running on low air pressure, it turns slowly and does not energize the hammers.

The manual mentions a filter/screen under the air connection but the fitting seems to be frozen/seized in the handle and I can’t get it to turn.

The manual also gives a part number for a repair kit but the local NAPA store hasn’t responded to my request.

I’d hate to toss it for some minor repairable problem.

2. oldolds

oldolds

As much as I do not want to say this but...... Go to Harbor Freight and buy one of the Earthquake impacts. You will never look back.

Gasser 57, JeffB2, slowmotion and 4 others like this.
  3. Deuces

Deuces

It can be repaired and last another 30 more years....

4. lake_harley

lake_harley

My only experiment with repairing an impact didn't work out. A friend was doing a deep clean and purge of things in his shop. I got an old IR impact and bought a repair kit. Installed it as best as I thought was correct and it still doesn't have much break-away torque at all. I break bolts/nuts loose with a breaker bar, sometime using a cheater pipe, and if I use the impact it's only to speed some nuts or bolts on or off, always using a ratchet to do final tightening. I've put up with not having a working impact for years but as much as I dislike throwing things away I'm cleaning now and might just toss the old impact in the scrap metal, recycling bucket today.

If you get yours working, more power to you!

Lynn

Deuces, nochop and Desoto291Hemi like this.

5. 19Fordy

19Fordy

I would think that after 30 years of service it's just worn out. Time for an upgrade.