Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Vacuum ports

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by stylelinesteve, Mar 16, 2020.

1. stylelinesteve

stylelinesteve

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Hi, I’ve got a couple of questions I’d like to ask you guys to see if you sort out the problem I have with my engine, I’ll try to make it as short as possible.
    I put this sbc in my ‘50 styleline after doing a minimal strip down and rebuild a couple of years ago after buying it with the vacuum lines missing so I put them on where I thought they should go, I’ve no real experience with cars,just learning as I go along.
    The thing starts on the button and idles fine but I get hesitation when I pull away gently and then it’s ok so I thought I had a vacuum leak but couldn’t trace one so I decided to buy a reconditioned Rochester 2 barrel from Rockauto and replace the intake manifold gaskets whilst I was at it and it did make an improvement for a while but now it’s back where it was.
    If you look at my pictures have I got the vacuum ports wrong, I’ve got the distributor to full vacuum and the egr valve on a timed port, would these cause the problem or am I looking at the wrong thing?, I know people will say get a 4 barrel and a new intake but I’d like to keep the engine looking ‘old’ if it’s possible and the other thing is I’m in the UK so I can’t just nip out and get parts quickly, so if anyone has any suggestions I’d be grateful.
    Thanks in advance, Steve

Sent from my iPad using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

2. saltflats

saltflats
    from Missouri

I would try disconnecting the vacuum to the EGR and see if that helps. If so I would just leave it disconnected if that is legal in your state.

tractorguy likes this.
  3. Deuces

Deuces

Check your timing...

4. 2OLD2FAST

2OLD2FAST
    from illinois