Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods New here and have a 34 ford bb

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by av3464, Nov 27, 2015.

1. av3464

av3464

I'm new to this hot rod building word but have lots of fab skill and looking to build my 34 into something like a traditional hot rod or hot rod. I'm going to run fenderless even though when my grandpa gave me this truck he said I could not make rat rod or anything stupid, but its not stupid nor gonna be a rat rod! He's had this truck for 20+ years and never got around to do anything with it and I want him to drive it once its done within the year. I'm looking for any help or suggestions on how to get the stance I want. I'm going to use the stock 34 ford bb frame and shorten it to how I want it, put a 4-link in and make my own box. I planned on buying a 4" drop axle from speedway motors for the front end. I going to run tall skinny tires on 35 ford wheels but also in the toss up widening two to run cheater slicks because I'm caught in the middle of both styles. I want to cut 2" out of the bb frame to drop it instead of channeling because I'm 6'2" and plan on driving it a lot and want it to be comfortable. If anyone could help on the right path with the front axle would be great! I want to also be able to put the hood on if needed and or fenders to make granddad happy because I want him to drive it once its done. I basically know what I want but don't have time to search and find all the info I need so instead I figured I would just post and see what happens. Thanks for any help and letting me join in on the fun!

Attached Files:

2. I would have left that bit out.

In the mean time I think you should use the search function, or simply browse back through pages here and acquaint yourself with the many builds. You'll get familiar with what's what and probably have lots of questions answered along the way.