Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Thoughts on brazed steel joints vs MIG welded?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ziggster, Feb 10, 2020.

1. Ziggster

Ziggster

For my build speedster build, I had two 11Ga "C" channels made. I will need to start building the frame which means adding cross members, motor mounts, suspension mounts, etc. Instead of MIG welding things together, I'm toying with the idea of just brazing the parts together. In theory, I believe the joint should be just as strong as the base metal if done properly which works for me since as a novice welder, my finished joints have a lot to be desired. Have any of you ever done such a thing or have experience with brazed steel manufacturing? As a side note, my car will likely weigh no more than 1,500 lbs, powered by a 100 Hp V8 flathead attached to a T5 and Model A rear diff.

loudbang likes this.
  2. G-son

G-son
    from Sweden

Lots of bike and motorcycle frames are brazed, as well as some car frames. Done right it works well.

3. Morris Bresnahan, from New Hampshire, built dragster chassis's in the 60's that he brazed together. I never heard of any of them failing, or coming apart.

loudbang and Boneyard51 like this.
  4. dentisaurus

dentisaurus
    from Boston

You'll need to prep your joints correctly to get a brazed joint to its full potential strength wise. Brazed joints are usually sockets for things like bike frames

5. Brazing is usually lap joints or sleeved aka circumferential lap joint and sockets. They use it like glue.
    Butts and fillets might not be as strong as the parent metal or a welded joint. You’ll need plates and clips on those

6. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

I suggest learning to weld better. if I had a project where brazing might come in to play I would look it up on the interweb rather than ask random strangers who may or may not have any experience with what I was doing.

1oldtimer likes this.
  7. redo32

redo32