Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Wagon hunt may be OVER!!! 1952 DeSoto wagon is HOME!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flynbrian48, Jan 11, 2020.

1. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

@FlynBrian ......‘re Cherokee rear axles....I have a lot of experience with the Jeep stuff from some years ago. The (“square”) Cherokee from ‘91 thru 2001 end of production used the MOPAR 8.25” rear axle, regardless of 2 or 4 wd. Limited slips were relatively scarce in my experience. 6 cyl automatics 2 or 4 wd are 3.55 ratio. 6 cyl 5 spd manual are 3.07, the less common 4 cyl are 4.10. The ‘97 thru ‘05 TJ Wrangler also used the 8.25 axle, is essentially the same as Cherokee, but has a lot of suspension brackets to cut off. The Cherokee should be fairly plentiful, they made a lot of them.

Jeep Liberty and Dodge Nitro also use the 8.25” axle, ratios vary by model/power train, but 3.21 are in the mix. They have disc brakes and width is good.

Ford 8.8” from Explorer, as previously mentioned, is plentiful and popular. Limited slip is common. Disc brakes from about ‘94 up as I recall. 3.27, 3.55, 3.73 & 4.10 ratios. These have larger diameter axle tubes, axles and axle bearings and 31 spline. Offset pinion, but under the DeSoto that shouldn’t present any problem. All above axles are 5x4.5” bolt circle. Better choice for trailer towing.

Another worthwhile consideration for your DeSoto would be the MOPAR 8.75 B body axle or a 9” Ford, both are 5 x 4.5” bolt circle. They are rugged and ‘look the part’ by virtue of design/appearance and are drop out third members with lots of ratio choices. I am putting a ‘67 Ford Galaxy 9” under my ‘55 Chrysler hardtop......width is correct, 11 x 2.25 brakes...also very good for trailering....what’s not to like?