Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 53’ ford customline swap

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by Iron crypt Steve, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Iron crypt Steve

Iron crypt Steve
    from CALIFORNIA

Hey guys just im new to the page, and I hope I’m in the right spot, if I’m please please help direct me.

anyways I’ve just recently picked up a very clean 53’ ford customline fordor sedan. Original flat head v8 still in it but not running. I was originally planning to swap to a fuel injected 302 but now have decided I’m not going to. I want something a bit bigger. My buddy had a 430ci motor and cruiseOMatic trans for sale from his 63’ continental, So of course I had to buy it and now after a few measurements it’s going to be a bit of a tight fit. I’m a certified welder by trade and build custom utility work trucks, so the fab shouldn’t be anything to hard for me, but I’ve never done a swap like this before, and was hoping to get some insight to what I’ll be in store for, or any tips that might help me or save me headaches.

Thanks in advanced for the help, I look forward to your responses!

2. junkyardjeff

junkyardjeff

The only thing I think you will have problems with would be the oil pan if you are retaining the original front suspension,the flathead had a center sump pan and I would think the 430 has a front sump. I have wanted to use one of those engines in a 55 or 56 with a 4 speed.

3. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The big problem with the oil pan is that those engine were in only a very small handful of car models and oil pan choices are somewhere between slim and none. That and some parts may be now on the "rare part"s $$$ list. My mom had a 58 Mercury Colony park wagon with one in the early 60's and that thing would fly.

4. Diavolo

Diavolo