Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 392 Hemi Deal?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by CAHotRodBoy, Dec 29, 2019.

1. CAHotRodBoy

CAHotRodBoy

Been wanting to put a new motor in my '34 and a 392 is my first choice. Found a new rebuild (a couple thousand miles on it) that's currently in a car and running. Seller sent me a video of it running and it sounds good. Build was done by a Mopar mechanic but not in a pro shop. Seller has receipts for all parts used. Complete with dual carbs (also rebuilt). Asking price is $7500. Seems like a good deal to me but I have no experience with Hemi's.

2. Well,,,,I am a Mopar man,,,,,but I am also kind of tight with my money.
    The 392 is a great engine and is probably worth it,,,,,but I can’t see myself paying 7500 for a recently rebuilt engine.
    Just me I guess,,,you did say that was asking price,,,so keep asking for more details.
    And just because it was not a pro shop does not disqualify it in my book.
    That is a lot of money,,,you need good intel .

However,,that is your first choice,,,,,use your head as well as your heart,,,,before your checkbook !

Tommy

3. oldiron 440

oldiron 440

7,500 doesn't get you squat now days, I've dropped that on a 440 refresh.

jakespeed63 and mad mikey like this.
  4. DOCTOR SATAN

DOCTOR SATAN
    from okc

He got a story why he is selling it....?

5. Mike Colemire

Mike Colemire

From what I've seen on the prices on any Hemi parts, I don't think that's bad. I'd listen to it run and make sure it runs for a good while. I've seen engines run good until they warm completely up and then noises show up. I'd also have him drain the oil afterwards and check the filter for any metal. You could also do a leak down test, can't be to careful when you are spending that kind of money. Hope it works out for you!

jakespeed63 and mad mikey like this.
  6. CAHotRodBoy

CAHotRodBoy

Well, we struck a deal. I'm going to build a Hemi powered coupe, yeah! :D