Register now to get rid of these ads!

Vintage Speed Boats

Discussion in 'The Antiquated' started by Ryan, Sep 11, 2006.

1. 34Larry

34Larry

[​IMG] upload_2019-12-16_8-58-42.jpeg

These two boats U-27 Slo mo IV (4 first picture) and Slo mo V (5) built in Seattle in mid to late (50's) were the first unlimited hydro's. Built by Ted Jones for Stan Sayers who owned a Chrysler Plymouth dealership in down town Seattle. The picture below is of the IV being either pushed into or held back from the dealership garage.[​IMG]

I knew the Ted Jones kids. Ron the son came often to the high school I graduated from in Tukwila and sat in with the Band as he had been a band member when attending Foster. I once went to the home of Ted Jones, because Ron had invited there for a reason I don't recall now. Ted and his wife also had twin girls, Shirley and Sharon were their names as I recall, (could be mistaken on that). To me at 17, as were they, were beautiful. I wanted to get to know them better, but life just got in the way. OH and BTW the two Allison engined Miss Triftway was on the trailer in the back yard.
    Ted Jones Jr. often came to band practice and often times accompanied us on Band trips around the area. He once came in and made us honorary members of the then popular Confederate Air Force of which he was full fledged member, giving each a certificate of authenticity. This gave the Jones access to the Allison's that powered those boats.......... From Wikipedia: His son, Ron Jones, Sr., and grandson Ron Jones, Jr. both also had distinguished careers with unlimited hydroplane racing.
    (This is just my 2 bits (25 cents for you you younger guys) worth on the subject.:D)