Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects convertibles

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by sunbeam, Nov 1, 2019.

1. jvo

jvo
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I've never owned one, but have always wanted one. Came really close to owning a 57 Pontiac convertible once. I have been told by friends tough that they suffer from the "never ever rule". That is, the first 30 days you own it, the top is never ever up, and for the next few years after that, the top is never ever down. I'd still like to have one though.

2. Bandit Billy

Bandit Billy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I've owned quite a few. Worth less than a hardtop? Like BJ says "when the top goes down, the price goes up". Camaros, mustangs, t-birds, vettes, and my 442 that I have been driving hard for 23 years now is a ragtop. My 34 is a droptop as well. I love em. Ill own more.

VANDENPLAS, hotrodjack33 and jimgoetz like this.
  3. exterminator

exterminator

4. In HS (70's) my family had a 64 Imperial convertible. My friends and I had a ton of fun in that car. Was supposed to go to me when I graduated, but those things never worked out in my family.

Been awhile ago now, but I had a 61 Lincoln convertible. Something I had always wanted and finally scored one via Hemmings. Loved the looks, and loved the car as long as something weird wasn't happening to it. Finally gave up on it and let it go.

I rode motorcycles for years, so the noise, wind and occasional shower that happens when in a car with the top down is really nothing.

Now I have a 65 Corvair convertible. Supposed to be going in for body and paint next month … but you now how that goes haha! Fingers crossed!

joeycarpunk likes this.
  5. Slick34

Slick34