Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Does anyone still make a decent American made distributor for a SBC?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Roothawg, Oct 1, 2019.

1. Driver50x

Driver50x

For what it’s worth, I was a mechanic in a Chevrolet dealership during the 1990’s. I’ve seen plenty of Delco coils that would not work in cold weather, but worked fine as soon as you warmed them up a bit.

It sounds like Bubba has a bunch of experience with these things. Personally I would heed his advice and just install a new Bosch coil. That could very likely fix your problem.

I’m reading this thread with interest, as I just installed a Pertronix ignition on my rod as well. I’m hoping it lasts more than 3500 miles. :rolleyes:

Hnstray and town sedan like this.
  2. banjeaux bob

banjeaux bob
    from alaska

3. be careful just putting any old coil with the pretronics units, some [all?] need a special coil.

4. On Pertronix, you have to match the resistance on the coil to the number of cylinders. I believe on a four cylinder, it calls for a 3 Ohm coil. 90% of my Pertronix are installed on fours. I have one on a six, and one on a 351W. I think the 8 cylinders get a 1.5 Ohm coil.

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

5. ^and you have to match the coil resistance to the type of Pertronix igniter. Their site has instructions for all their igniters and distributors with advice on proper coil selection.

Last edited: Oct 2, 2019
  6. Roothawg

Roothawg

That was all done. That's not the issue fellas. If I had to buy a new coil, it would be good info to have. I bought the matched set.

Truckdoctor Andy and town sedan like this.
  7. Ask for a 70 Malibu rebuilt distributor at the auto parts, buy an extra set of points for the glove box and you'll be set.

enigma57, olscrounger, Chucky and 3 others like this.
  8. GMC BUBBA

GMC BUBBA
    Member Emeritus

yep the bosch works well with the pertronixs

-Brent- and big duece like this.