Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Hey guys, got another amateur question about my 235 engine. Main bearing question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by oilslinger53, Sep 21, 2019.

1. oilslinger53

oilslinger53
    from covina CA

I got this engine torn down to change out all the seals, inspect everything, clean and paint etc... The main bearings all have these score marks that are just deep enough to feel with my fingernail. The crankshaft has corresponding discoloration, but I can’t feel it with my fingered or nails. I’m going to replace these bearings, but should I have the crankshaft turned as well?

Sorry for what may be a stupid question, but this is my first time diving into [​IMG]the deep end of an engine, so I have lots of possibly stupid questions [​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

2. What do the upper shells look like?
    Those look like a little damage from some trash going through at some point.
    If the crank looks good ,,,no reason to have it turned,,,maybe polished,,,up to you?
    Do you plan to spend a lot on this rebuild?,,,,,there can always be plenty of things to spend money on.
    Post more pics of the other bearings and crank journals,,,that will help as well.

By the way,,,did you already clean the rear main cap,,,,,that old rope seal looks really good.
    If the entire bottom end is that clean,,,you might have a really good engine to start with.

Tommy

oilslinger53 and partssaloon like this.
  3. Those bearings have seen dirt and debris .
    Worth while replacing.
    Take a pic of the crank .
    Might get away with just bearings and a polish.
    Pull the entire engine apart, disassemble the oil pump look for wear and dirt and clean clean clean everything !

Was there a lot of sludge in the pan? Under the valve cover?

Did theengine runbefore you tore it down?

4. Rex_A_Lott

Rex_A_Lott