Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical small block knocking sound on cold start, balancer?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by error404, Sep 1, 2019.

1. error404

error404
    from CA

I don't post much here, hopefully this is in the right spot.

I have a small very mild (probably not even 200hp) small block 350 in a 33 Chevy truck. It's a crate motor that was new about 15 years ago, with less than 10k miles on it. It's new to me as of this month, so I'm still learning it.

There's an intermittent random knocking sound that I've started noticing a week ago or so when I start the motor in the morning when the motor is dead cold. Sounds to me like its coming from the harmonic balancer. I move my head all around the motor and put my hands on anything that's not moving, and it definitely sounds like it's coming from the balancer.

Goes away after a minute or two, and I don't hear it again until another dead cold start in the morning. "cold" here is 55-60 degrees in the morning. The motor runs fine, and I don't think I feel any abnormal vibrations.

Oil is full, belts are tight, and I don't see or feel anything on the outside of the motor that is physically knocking against something else.

Is there any way to verify if it's the balancer or not? Remove the balancer and belts and start it up? Anything else I should try to eliminate?

Tried to get a video of it this morning to share what the sound is like, but of course as soon as I hit record, the noise stopped. So the solution might be to put a microphone near the engine and the noise will never happen :-D

2. Doublepumper

Doublepumper
    from WA-OR, USA

Mechanical fuel pump? Wonder if there is something going on there....noisy until pressure is built up....?

WDobos likes this.
  3. Boneyard51

Boneyard51

Typically, that is loose main bearings, it quits when oil pressure builds up to give it a cushion. Is it a heavy sounding thud type knock?

Bones

Randall likes this.