Register now to get rid of these ads!

History (1) more question, then I'm shutt'n up and HRP can have it

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 34Larry, Aug 30, 2019.

1. 34Larry

34Larry

I have always been behind the curve, late to the party, the last one to know, etc.
    I at age 12/13 I had the basic knowledge of of cars and how they worked but didn't have any experience at all in working on one in anyway until I was 21.

I remember one of my idols the same age as I was saying, "WTF Moe, you don't even know what the cam shaft does". I did know, but never even had seen one. This was when I was 18. It wasn't until the car I was driving needed help (a ' 51 Chev. fast back) that I tore it down in the Airmens autoshop at McConnell AFB and rebuilt a 216, and put all that book learning through the years to practice. Of course there was all that other stuff, brakes, tires, and all that took another 10/15 years and I'm still learning and behind the curve in many many ways.

The question: At what age did you learn and get full grasp of the workings of an engine and then proceed to learn more about automobiles?

Deuces likes this.
  2. at 16 small engines class/….

Deuces likes this.
  3. Redrodguy

Redrodguy

Age 66 - still a mystery!

-Brent-, Johnny Gee, chopped and 5 others like this.
  4. read my sig line,I learn something almost every day.

5. 14/15. At 15 i rebuilt the engine in my Cushman scooter. Took the crank to the local macine shop smd they ground it to .010. honed the cylinder with a borrowed hone and some of dad's mineral spirits as lube. Lapped the valves. Cleaned it all up and put it together with new insets and rings. Started on the first kick and ran perfectly until I sold it

greener200 likes this.
  6. RMONTY

RMONTY