Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Steel Prices

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by sloppy jalopies, Mar 11, 2019.

1. after reading all of this , i am glad i got what i consider a lifetime supply of steel for nothing 25 years ago. i've only had to buy a few small pieces of something i didn't have , usually from drop offs at the local scrap metal place

2. RmK57

RmK57

Having a strong US dollar compared to other steel manufacturing countries also hurts trying to compete on pricing. If your importing from Canada your gaining 25% right off the top, why wouldn't you want to buy from them?

3. What is driving most of this increase in prices is the fuel sure charge . Average is 10% - 12% across the board . A company that I deal with regularly and spend over $300K a year sent me a letter explaining the increase cost of shipping . I also understand this , I am also a owner operator of a semi truck and do see a major expense in owning a over the road truck . So many government regulations and associated fees with owning a truck that many company's barely make it. I know I am one .
    Vic

4. You need to ask before you buy.

The country of origin stamped in it the case of angle. Most aluminum and steel we get at work has paint mark with manufacture batch ect... .

Is if is off shore from southeast Asia you can see it from 40' feet away. Bent twisted ect…
    We reject at least one or pallets a week of Aluminum at work

As far as US/Canadian manufactures rising there prices this is the first I am hearing of it.
    I work in a large fab shop about 60 in the shop 40 in the office.

The machine shop at work and my auto machinist have both said any machine tools (bits end mills ect) they buy made form US or Canadian materials have not gone up.

egads likes this.
  5. JOECOOL

JOECOOL

I buy a lot of used rusty stuff nowdays ,My time cleaning it isn't worth squat so I grind and blast.My car doesn't know the difference anyway.

6. Mr48chev

Mr48chev