Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Bias Trailer Tires on My Ford?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by leon bee, Mar 23, 2019.

1. leon bee

leon bee

I've been working on my 50 coupe for a couple years now. Way back then I bought 4 of the cheapest 15" trailer tires I ever saw, so all this time I haven't had to blow up tires to move her around. And they look good. Now I'm getting to where I need to tag the car and go to town.

I've probably got 20 miles on her ramming up and down the road out front of my shop, seating the rings, etc. Car drives just fine..........surprisingly so- all new steering parts, etc. What about these tires? I tried to read up, never found real world info. Might be illegal? Why? I'm a bias tire guy, don't want radials. What about these tires on my car? I can always put em on one of my ragged ass trailers. Thanks for any info!

2. tfeverfred

tfeverfred
    Member Emeritus

Doesn't sound too safe. Why risk it?

3. missysdad1

missysdad1

Trailer tires are not speed rated and do not conform to the same standards as passenger car tires.

4. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

Like any other tire and more so with trailer tires. They did to be swapped out every 5 years.

5. oldiron 440

oldiron 440

Trailer tires that are! And should be on a trailer............period.

6. Johnny Gee

Johnny Gee
    from Downey, Ca

^^^^^ Agree. I even have trouble having them on my travel trailer.

7. leon bee

leon bee

But why? I can't find either technical, homespun, or even old wive's tales about why. I don't plan to wreck the car, just would like to know. Thanks, guys!

8. leon bee

leon bee

Just realized I should try google again. There's a whole bunch on there I can read tonight.

9. blowby

blowby
    from Nicasio Ca

Can't think of anything. The load rating is probably way over your needs, trailers get towed at 70+ all the time, they are exposed to cornering and braking loads..