Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Any Ford 352 experts on here?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 396/425, Mar 13, 2019.

1. 396/425

396/425

I just finished my Starliner and had the original 352 rebuilt. I have one lifter ticking. I have good oil pressure. Lifter won’t seem to pump up? Valve too short? I don’t see how you’d adjust the valve on this contraption. It only has 30 miles on it. One guy said...drive it more it might go away. To which I thought..wtf? One guy said throw some
    Lucas oil conditioner in it? To which I also thought..wtf? The engine has lots of power and runs nice. It just has a slight tick that makes me crazy. I’m not a motor expert at all but I’m not a complete idiot either. If you’ve got honest advice...I’m listening. I hate to take it back to the builder. It’s a long way away. Thanks.

2. Probably a bad lifter, but I'd try the oil treatment before I pulled the intake to replace it...

3. finn

finn

Either an Exhaust leak at the head to manifold interface or piston slap is possibly the culprit.

Otherwise, if it’s truly a valve train noise, you have lash in the valvetrain, either from debris in the lifter internals, a worn rocker shaft or rocker arm, or a worn cam lobe.

4. MeanGene427

MeanGene427
    from Napa

Might want to check for a slight exhaust leak- were the heads and manifolds machined on the exhaust side when rebuilt? Surfaced heads and exhaust manifolds will seal up fine without a gasket, maybe a touch of hightemp RTV, but if the flanges are rough, they can leak a bit

5. 396/425

396/425

No. They machined the exhaust surface. I have new ceramic coated headers and special gaskets from Ford Powertrain in Oregon. I highly doubt it’s an exhaust leak but I will check.

6. Mike Moreau

Mike Moreau