Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Need some help getting my banger started

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by FlyinA, Mar 6, 2019.

1. FlyinA

FlyinA

I'm new to hopping up Model A engines. I've done plenty of stock Model A's but I hove no experience with Stromberg 97's or much speed parts.
    Right now I have a rebuilt Model A block with a 6:1 head, headers, a single Stromberg 97, B cam, stock distributor 6v Pos-Ground and a flathead style starter but I have a couple issues.
    First my starter won't turn over the engine. The solenoid works and the battery's charged but it engages for just 1 second and then stops. Then when I push the button again the solenoid just clicks. I'm going to take it out and see if I can find out what's up.
    Second issue (which I don't know if it's an issue yet) is with the Stromberg 97. I have no experience with them, it's a small logo that was supposedly rebuilt but I'm not sure how well or if it's even adjusted at all. I'm currently using gravity feed not a fuel pump but I'm not sure if the carbs getting fuel to the engine correctly. Fuel was getting to the carb inlet I know that for sure
    Since the starter wasn't working I hand cranked it for a while (which was obviously very hard). It had spark at the plugs and is timed but it wouldn't start, not even a single fire.
    What may be going on with the starter? What should I do to check if the carb is adjusted properly before trying to run it? Do any of you have any ideas, tips or tricks?

2. rusty valley

rusty valley