Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 39 coupe

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by 55 phil, Feb 25, 2019.

1. 55 phil

55 phil

I'm building a 39 coupe gasser. It ran at alton drag way late 60 ish. It ran a 364 nail head. Straight axle. At one time was up graded to 50 ish brakes ,drum. Steering box was moved, cut column,cut drag link. I want to b safe. Modern steering,it was side steer. Any sug. Vega,corvare ,or a speedway axel kit,with all new parts.

2. 41rodderz

41rodderz
    from Oregon

All new parts is a great idea. Look at SEGA rules to flesh out your gasser build. You should always put safety as number !. Plenty of guys here to get tips on their gasser builds.

55 phil likes this.
  3. 55 phil

55 phil

I

4. 55 phil

55 phil

I'm new at this Fab stuff I've rebuilt stuff all my life. Just getting some input Original Springs or shot need shackles rebuilt drum brakes needs new gearbox steering box and checking the prices it's starting to build up. Was trying to keep original Style front end with spring blocks, but looking at Speedway straight axle kit is looking better. Front Springs alone are in the $600 range, I think I can get new tie rod ends and drag links and stuff from Speedway to tie into the old straight axle, then I would still either use drum brakes or have to upgrade to disc. Just kind of putting the feel out for what others have done

5. 31Apickup

31Apickup

A 39 what, Ford, Chevy, other? It’ll make a difference on suggestions.

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

6. alchemy

alchemy

What's wrong with the old components? Sure you can install some new tie rod ends and shackle bushings, but are the hard parts broken? Maybe a new tie rod tube to replace the spliced old part. But just because something was cut and welded, does that mean it's now junk? I might feel safer driving a car with safely modified old parts than a car with new Chinese junk. Check the welds with magnaflux if you feel they are suspect.