Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Making patch panels that fit

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by terry k, Feb 10, 2019.

1. terry k

terry k
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from toledo oh

I'm looking for some help in making patch panels fit. Reading the threads on body repair on the HAMB really makes me wonder how they cut a crazy rusted out piece and then we see a panel cut and fit to perfection without so much as a small gap. What's the best way to go about getting the panel to match the cut out ?? I could sure use some help... Thanks

reagen likes this.
  2. I'm no pro at it but cutting the rust out and make a poster board pattern, trace it on sheet metal, cut it out and weld it in, it's basically a simple process.

You do need to decide whether your going to butt weld or (overlap , not the recommended way) HRP

john worden likes this.
  3. 66gmc

66gmc

There are a few different techniques you can use to get a perfect fit. The most accurate way I have found is to trim the patch so it overlaps the original metal by about 3/4". Hold the patch in place with clecos or sheetmetal screws. Then cut along the edge of the patch with an airsaw. The edge of the patch acts as a guide so you get a nice straight cut and the airsaw blade is thinner then a conventional cut off wheel so you get a nice tight gap for butt welding.

The quick and dirty method that I normally use is to cut out the rusted metal to the exact size I want the patch to be on the first try. I then clamp this on top of my patch panel and trace it out using a scribe ( a scribed line is more accurate than a line drawn with a marker). Then I cut the patch out using a zip disc on a grinder. With a little fine tuning I end up with a perfect fitting panel. This method takes more practice as you must compensate for how much material is removed by the thicker zip disc, but I find it's faster then method 1.

Sent from my SM-G950W using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

pitman likes this.