Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Reference Books

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by zz29, Nov 23, 2018.

1. zz29

zz29

I am a total newbie and have been struggling with very basic concepts of how a car is made. I found this book at a massive used book store in Detroit, Michigan, John K King. It’s from 1947 and seems to be an Army manual for soldiers in the mechanic program. It’s a great book, breaks every component down to basic levels. Pretty sure when I’m done I’ll know how an army truck works. ;-)

What books do you have in your hot rod/custom car library? [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

2. squirrel

squirrel

my dad got us boys the 1956 version of that manual, some time in the late 60s....I still have it. Great book!

You might also see if you can find an automotive shop text book for high school, one from the 50s-70s should work great to teach you the basics of how to fix that stuff, as well as offering a different explanation of how things work.

I have a bunch of factory shop manuals for cars from the 1930s-70s, which are great for detailed how to on specific parts. Say you're working on a hot rod with a 327 and 4 spd muncie, the shop manuals for a 1966 Chevy will give you a lot of useful info, drawings, specs, detailed assembly instructions, etc.

I also have a bunch of old parts catalogs, which are handy for figuring out what parts I can use in which applications, and many of them have an illustrated buyers guide that will list all the available parts, with some basic specs, and applications. You can get a lot of this info from places like rockauto.com these days, but being able to thumb through a book sure makes it quicker, if you don't know the specific application ahead of time.

There are also many history of hot rods coffee table books, that are neat to find out where this stuff all started, and get build ideas.

classiccarjack, OahuEli, zz29 and 6 others like this.