Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Removing Valve Covers Big Block Chevy

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by zz29, Nov 20, 2018.

1. zz29

zz29

Hi again; newbie here. I've gotten it in my head that I wanted to add some color to the valve covers and air cleaner on this hot rod. I've read all about how to go about painting them. When I went to remove the valve covers, they're very snug against the block (not the block I know but I don't know what that part is called), so they didn't just pop off after removing the nuts. Question is, if I pry them off, are the odds that I will probably have to replace the valve cover gaskets? And is that more than a rookie can chew just to paint the covers? Any recommendations on where to get good quality gaskets for this setup? Lastly, there's a rubber gasket where the oil goes in; I d' have to remove that to paint; assume I have to buy new ones? See pics. Thanks!

Attached Files:

modelkitbasher and XXL__ like this.
  2. squirrel

squirrel

The gaskets are likely stuck, probably because someone used some type of sealer on them when installing. Make sure you have ALL the nuts off, and maybe remove the studs, too, before gently prying the valve covers off. You will probably need new gaskets. I would just use normal Fel-Pro replacement gaskets.

The rubber grommets for the PCV valve and the breather cap can be removed, and if they are in good condition, you can re use them. But if they are old and brittle and crack, you need new ones.

The part under the valve cover is called the "cylinder head", or "head" for short.

Welcome to engines...they're fun! I like how you're asking about stuff you don't know about, that's smart.

3. Get some new gaskets before you begin. You will need them. Clean both surfaces good before you reinstall them. Good luck, you can do it, just put them back the way they came off.

Deuces and zz29 like this.