Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Strange Things Afoot In Mexico

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ryan, Nov 20, 2018.

1. Ryan

Ryan
    ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

Ryan submitted a new blog post:

Strange Things Afoot In Mexico

[​IMG]

Continue reading the Original Blog Post

chryslerfan55, GZ, Special Ed and 5 others like this.
  2. zz29

zz29

Great video; they are probably in Argentina, not Mexico, or at least the three people in the video have Argentian/Uruguayan accents. Browsed through the video and the young guys are talking about the modifications a traditional hot rod requires like the flathead V8 59AB (I think, i'm a newbie), the quick change, and how they tried to build the car following 'the book'. They talk about the gear ratio in relationship to racing it on the quarter mile and some other stuff. It's a very nice build.

3. denis4x4

denis4x4
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Colorado

Hot rods and customs from Tijuana were standard fare at San Diego car shows and cruises in the fifties and sixties. For a short period of time, 1/8 mile drags were held near the bullring by the sea. There's always been a strong car culture in Tijuana, Calexico, Mexicali and Ensanada.

4. dana barlow

dana barlow
    from Miami Fla.
    1. Y-blocks

23.jpg Old cars.its all good ! Being a hotrodder and race car nut in south Fla. from the 50s on,dose also mean I took race cars an raced in the Caribbean, Puerto Rico,Dominican Rep. in the early 80s and Jamaica in the 1968 in Kingston. Car nuts find a way to talk cars...................

Last edited: Nov 25, 2018

5. I love everything about that car! The Napoleon Dynamite look alike's smile while he revs the engine is priceless....

6. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

Not Mexico. Vintage Oliden, Lomas de Zamora, Buenos Aires.
    As far as Mexico goes ,there was a time when what you said about Mexico may have been true.