Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Electrical expert needed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by woodiewagon46, Nov 8, 2018.

1. Danny Brown

Danny Brown

Again... A GROUND ROD IS NOT A PROPER GROUND AND IT DEFINITELY IS NOT "THE SAME AS WHAT THE SERVICE PROVIDER USES." Read my post.

2. bct

bct

Your 120s the same phase? Should be different. What's the breaker look like in the house?

3. My new 200 Amp service was wired by an electrician and inspected by the regional inspector. All the white wires in the box and the white wire from the service, are all connected to the neutral bus, and this is also connected to the spike in the ground. Call it what you want.
    Bob

4. A fair amount of misinformation goin' on here... And I AM an electrician with 30+ years experience who also taught AC theory.

Bubba, your diagram is wrong, sorry. At one time, running all four wires to a sub-panel in a separate structure was legal, but they changed it a number of years ago; you DID NOT drive a ground rod with four wires, as you could create a 'ground loop'. Granted, I'm retired and have been for about 10 years, so there's a possibility it's been changed yet again. Every time they revise the code, grounding has the most changes. Current practice at the time I retired was that any sub-panel that's in a separate structure was treated as a new 'service', so you took the hots and neutral to the panel (no ground wire), then bonded the neutral and ground, and drove at least one ground rod. Now, local utility practices vary, as do 'local' codes. While the NEC is a 'national standard', it has no force of law unless a local authority adopts it, and they're free to change things to suit local conditions.