Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Electrical expert needed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by woodiewagon46, Nov 8, 2018.

1. woodiewagon46

woodiewagon46
    from New York

A friend asked me to TIG weld exhaust brackets on his chassis. I brought all my equipment to his house and am having a hard time for some reason. This is what I suspect. His house was built in the early 1900's with the old 2 wire system, no grounds. He had the house renovated with all new wiring, not the garage however. Next spring he plans on running a 100 amp service to the garage. For now the garage has only two wire service, again, no ground. Could the reason I'm having trouble be because the machine is seeking a ground. It's not the welder, it runs fine in my shop, I'm stumped!

2. bubba55

bubba55

Is welder 240 or 120 - that maybe yer problem

3. Mike51Merc

Mike51Merc

Well, I'm not an electrician, but seems to me that you can simply drive a spike in the ground and connect a ground, just like the ground that the house has! I do this when I use my portable generator, which by the way, is another suggestion I have: borrow a generator to do the job.

loudbang and Atwater Mike like this.
  4. My dad's garage was like that. We wound up putting in a sub-panel in the house next to the breaker panel with a plug for the welder.

5. woodiewagon46

woodiewagon46
    from New York

Bubba, it's dual voltage but he only has 120V. in the garage.

6. Atwater Mike

Atwater Mike

Good ground is 'grass roots'. Or something like that. When I wired my shop for 220, I ran 3 leads of 0 gauge from the 100 amp sub panel I installed at the back of the house. These cables were encased in grey underground conduit.

I also ran a #0 cable down from the shop panel through the wall, to a 'ground ground'.
    A friend came over and asked why I was sledge hammering a 3 foot length of Rebar into the ground next to the wall.
    "Grounding to the Good Earth," was my reply.

7. Danny Brown