Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Ramchargers/Chrysler History

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by BillyShope, Aug 23, 2018.

1. I hate to break the news to you the Chrysler engineering school is no longer. Do to that my son went to ferris state in big rapids. When I asked my son why it's no longer open he said gm was taking all the students that graduated.

2. BillyShope

BillyShope

That's been the problem since the fifties! Chrysler carried the students until they graduated and then were unable to match the General's offers when they graduated. I went back to school when I graduated, but I know that others went to GM or Ford. Very short sighted management at Chrysler (or Fiat or whatever it's called now). Incidentally, I believe CIE failed back in the sixties, but then was revived for a short time. Sorry about your son. Learning automotive engineering from automotive engineers was far better than anything Ferris State could offer.

Dog_Patch and wraymen like this.
  3. BillyShope

BillyShope

Good question! I went to Transmission Design as my "permanent" assignment after graduation from CIE. There, I helped Bohdan Andrushkiw in the matching of torque converter components. Used this knowledge later when I worked at AiResearch matching gas turbine components. Yes, everything is considered when selecting a torque converter. By the way, did you know that Chrysler used both torque converters and fluid couplings in front of a manual transmission with the old flatheads? Another Ramcharger (Troy Simonsen) used a '50 Dodge Wayfarer (and a Chrysler block and Isky cam) with one of these transmission setups to blow off OTHER cheaters (Oldsmobiles with high lift rockers concealed below modified valve covers, for instance) in one of the stock classes.

4. BillyShope

BillyShope

Just remembered; Troy found out that the Chrysler flatheads had built in rev limiters. If you over revved, the piston would close the spark plug.