Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects (Sorta) New guy needs a hand!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Michael Robertson, Sep 10, 2018.

1. Carb and Dis. labeled.jpg Hello all! I'm at my wits end and I'm hoping the Great Collective Knowledge here on the HAMB can help me out. For some context you'll want in a second, I only caught the Car Bug after I'd graduated from high school, so I never took auto/shop to get a base of knowledge to start from. Everything I know I taught myself, and it seems there are some gaps in my education.

I've been working on/rebuilding my Grandad's 58 Bel Air for nearly 2 years now, teaching myself as I go. I'm getting close to starting it- I've put the engine back together, I'm getting the accessories and top back on, but I've hit a snag.
    I've got the stock 283 with a stock 2 BBL Rochester Carb that I rebuilt, but I can't figure out what ports/lines fit where, exactly. I've got the fuel line from the pump going into the top of the float bowl and the heat rise choke tube goes into the choke assembly. But, I also have an approx. 1/4 inch copper line going into a port near the bottom of the float bowl that I can't identify. As I understand it it's either the Vacuum line or the Spark control line, but the issue only starts there. I cant find the 4th port for the life of me! There's a port on the throttle body, but along with being significantly larger than any pipes/tubes I have, it had a plug in it before I started the Carb rebuild.
    The only other thing I know is that the vacuum line (a rather short rubber hose) comes from the distributor, but I assume I'll have to replace that line because it doesn't seem to be able reach anything, so it doesn't help me.