Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical School me on this steering box and drag link setup

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Somebody, Aug 28, 2018.

1. Somebody

Somebody

So, this is on a customers 32 3 window that has to be done in a week or two for hot rod hill climb. it has original '39 running gear and this steering box that is supposedly '39 that he wanted to use. a standard Ford drag link wont fit the output shaft, so not sure what to source on off of since this box is already rebuilt and integrated into the car. hoping somebody can ID it. Sorry for the shitty pics, I have a flip phone.

Attached Files:

2. KFC

KFC
    from UK

Is 39 not cross steer?

Looks suspiciously like my 34 steering box but I’m not an expert

3. Fordors

Fordors

Agreed^^^
    Sure looks like the ‘32 box that came on my 5 window.

4. dirty old man

dirty old man
    Member Emeritus

5. Andy

Andy

It appears to be a stock 32 box. Why is it angled up so steep? A 32 or 33-34 arm should work. An F-1 arm should also work. Later arms will work if the blocking spines are cut out. I have some pieces that could be used.
    The odd angle will require a custom arm for the right geometry.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2018
  6. BJR

BJR

7. Customer gave you bad info. That's not a 39 box. Being there is a dead line I'd tell him HE needs to supply you with the rest of the parts. Keeps you from being at fault for not making the dead line. If you knew what to go shopping for you wouldn't be asking us what it is.
    The Wizzard

8. Definitely NOT a '39 box. Attached are photos of the box in my '32. The '32 box and the '33/'34 boxes were the same except for the clocking of the bolt pattern on the sector housing. My guess is that the frame had a '33-'34 box in it at one time which would account for the 3 extra holes in your customer's frame.