Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Tire truing or shaving?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by modified, Aug 27, 2018.

1. 1946caddy

1946caddy
    from washington

I'm far from an expert on shocks but I know that they tune cars to their suspension and how much they weight. I'm not a big fan of friction shocks but they look good in your application. If all else fails, I would get some lever action hydraulic shocks off a MG or something similar and try them.

modified likes this.
  2. modified

modified

Thanks for your comment, the problem is the shocks are basically built into the car. When I got the car the shocks did nothing and you couldn't adjust the tension. I added the valve springs to the shocks to add pre-load and they actually work OK! Not the greatest but they do help noticeably.

Sent from my SM-N900V using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

3. Stogy

Stogy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

You are fortunate to have found a shaver...that's very rare these days.

modified likes this.
  4. modified

modified

He's retired and still does tire shaving at home. The only guy I know of around here! (Phoenix)

Stogy likes this.
  5. Stogy

Stogy
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

That's the other part of the equation someone who you can trust to do it right.

modified likes this.
  6. modified

modified

You bet!

Stogy likes this.
  7. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I took photos of that car at The Vintiques of Yakima show several years ago and to be truthful you have probably put more miles on it since you have owned it than were put on it before. Great car but it got treated as more of a show car than one that got out on the long roads and actually got driven.