Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects I want to put an automatic tranny behnd my Desoto flathead 6....PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Dodgefran, Aug 5, 2018.

1. Dodgefran

Dodgefran

My wife wants to be able to drive the truck too. My plans were to put the original Desoto 25" engine back in with a T5 standard shift overdrive. BUT...….. now I have to think "automatic transmission". I've checked out Wilco and that would work, if....I didn't care about using a GMC trans. I recall, some years ago, of someone putting in a Slant 6 w/automatic tranny. I am not experienced as most of you so I could use some Pros & Cons in the suggestions. By the way, when we had a big Ford van for wheelchair transportation, somehow we went through 3 clutches in 4 years...………………………………..HELP!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for your efforts.

Fran

2. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

Contact 73RR here on the HAMB. He not only if very knowledgeable about Mopars, but sells product, like transmission adapters too. Gary is a good guy and will steer you in the righ5 direction.

Ray

3. 62rebel

62rebel

The P16-D24 online group is an excellent source of information about these kinds of upgrades. Now, I don't know what the bolt pattern, etc is at the back of a DeSoto flathead six, but Plymouth used it until they started using the slant six and THEY put Torque-flites behind them.

4. Posts like these come up on a regular basis. I wonder what people did 75 years ago when automatic transmissions were practically non existent. "I guess I'll never be able to drive, because I can't work that pedal thingy and that funny looking lever. Oh, woe is me". Anyone, with functioning limbs and a semi functioning brain, can learn to drive a stick in a few hours and become pretty proficient in a few weeks. An extra skill, added to the set, couldn't hurt

RICH B likes this.

5. Tim

Tim
    from KCMO