Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical carbs, manifolds and the/Users/ginger/Desktop/IMG_0113.jpg rest

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by gdrummer, Jul 13, 2018.

1. gdrummer

gdrummer

so, i am pretty new to this so keep that in mind. very thankful that this site is here.

i'm working on a 1951 chevy 3100 deluxe panel. sometime during its life, it had a 235 cast# 3837004, installed. the date code puts it at 6/20/56. its 4spd, 2wd.
    i just got the truck and after some research, decided to do the twin carb conversion. i found a edelbrock manifold with 2 zenith carbs, a fancy linkage and a thickstun fuel block on CL for $600.00. it sounded like a good deal so i got it. i also ordered fenton headers to go with it.

so now the questions. can't seem to find any info on the manifold. would like to know what model it is. also, remember i'm new. there are 2 thread ports on the manifold. one on the top back, one on the side middle which is bigger. i'm thinking vacuum ports but not sure where they go. guessing distrubutor for the small one but not sure. also the carbs don't sit on the manifold. there is a block between them which has a butterfly and is connected to that fancy linkage. i am trying to upload pics. so how does that connect to the carbs and for that matter, whats it for?

also anyone know if anyone sells a set of duals for a panel. i understand that the fuel tank on the passenger side frame rail is an issue.

don' think the photo likk worked but i'd be happy to e mail or text send pics to anyone who thinks they can help

2. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

Don't the beginning of sentences, the word "I", and peoples names (Edelbrock, that's a respect thing !) still begin with capital letters ?

Mike

3. 52HardTop

52HardTop

Do you mean to say they still teach that in school today? It's been a few decades since I attended. I just figured it was thought to be offensive or something...

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  4. No pics