Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Cylinder head Removal

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by The Hyena, Jul 7, 2018.

1. The Hyena

The Hyena

ok gear heads i have a question:
    I have a 1966 cadillac 429 engine on a motor stand and its almost taken all apart (im a newb but im going to learn to rebuild an engine)
    anyway i got the passenger side cylinder head off BUT the driver side head will not budge!!! ive beat it with a heavy rubber hammer ive soaked it in penetrating fluid and tried again, there really isn't anywhere to pry it either. and to get in between the block and the head impossible i couldn't even hammer a putty knife in there.

super new to building an engine long time hamber...
    help me out ?
    thanks in advance

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. evintho

evintho

Pry bar in an intake port.

3. Deuces

Deuces

You sure you got all the headbolts out????....
    Let's see pictures of that side....

squirrel likes this.
  4. Eddie

Eddie
    from Georgia

Double check that all bolts are removed, count holes in head that is off, compare to be sure, loosely install two bolts in stuck head to keep it from falling off, insert pry bar in one of the ports, bump other end of bar with palm of hand.

Terrible80 likes this.

5. tubman

tubman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

My dad used to tell a story about when he was younger, he had an old Gardner automobile that needed a valve job. It was a flathead, and he could not get the head off. Finally, in desperation., he broke the head up with a BFH and a chisel. He said the head came off in several pieces, all except the one with the bolt in it.:eek:

6. squirrel

squirrel

Took me a while to find the other two bolts on the first head I took off, too.

dana barlow and 1927graham like this.
  7. A six way painters tool helps on this issue. Loose install two head bolts. Take a normal hammer and drive the painters tool in between the block and head. Much stronger than a regular putty knife.