Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Reinventing the wheel

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by '51 Norm, Apr 21, 2018.

1. El Camino Kid

El Camino Kid
    from 808

Thank you very much for sharing this. Ive wondered for a long time if I could cast some kustom taillights. Im really skeptical I have the time and skill to pull it off though.

2. '51 Norm

'51 Norm
    from colorado

Give it a try, what's the worst that can happen? Quite a lot I guess.
    I had never done any casting before and sure learned a lot along the way.
    After making a dual quad air cleaner as my first project I'm thinking that starting out with something smaller, like taillights, would be a better way to go.

3. El Camino Kid

El Camino Kid
    from 808

Im a finish carpenter by trade, so Ive got that covered, but some of the shapes Im considering are far from simple. There is definitely an art to the whole process, and seeing it through to completion would probably take me a year. I think im too much of a perfectionist. It still dosent stop me from dreaming about all the possibilities though.

'51 Norm likes this.
  4. Air cleaner fab looks good!

5. '51 Norm

'51 Norm
    from colorado

Thank you! It has been finished for awhile now and oddly enough it looks better to me now than it did when I first finished it.

6. Latigo

Latigo

Now that's just slicker than deer guts on a door knob. Great project with a can do attitude!

7. Joe McGlynn

Joe McGlynn

Nicely done! I've designed a bunch of parts for sand casting and made one pattern myself -- but all of the stuff I cast was done by a local foundry. It's a very cool process.