Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 3 in 1 sheet metal machines?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Hemi Joel, Jun 23, 2018.

1. Hemi Joel

Hemi Joel
    from Minnesota

I have been searching for a long time for some decent used USA sheet metal equipment, but there just dosen't seem to be much available around here. I'm just a hobbyist, not a pro, and the need to do sheet metal fab is infrequent. But my time in the shop working on my car projects is precious, I don't like to waste my time fixing junk equipment, converting garbage china tools into something usable, etc. Ready to work out of the box is my preference. At Back to the 50's, I tried out Woodward fabs 3 in 1 press brake, shear, slip roll machine. I think something like that might suit my needs. I found this machine at Grizzly, it is supposed to be built to a higher standard that the typical china machine. http://www.grizzly.com/products/42-3-in-1-Sheet-Metal-Machine/T26751Z

Does anyone have any feedback on 3 in one machines in general, and any specific brand recommendations? THanks,
    Joel

2. mgtstumpy

mgtstumpy

Those machines are similarly sold here by a number of outlets. I believe that they are all made offshore irrespective of colour and brand. They all appear to be generic from the ones I've seen. I'd personally prefer a quality unit however these suit a niche market (Hobbyist) and would most likely be OK. If I was still in a shop I'd go for a quality brand name, something more commercial than hobby. The duty cycle and quality of the brand names should be vastly superior to hobbyist machines.

saltflats likes this.
  3. kabinenroller

kabinenroller

I have a 3 in 1 from Grainger that I bought when they were closing out on them. It works fine for small projects and lighter gauge material. I found that the press brake feature did not bend to 90 degrees so I used a piece of welding rod as a spacer above the blades, it now will bend to about 95 degrees.