Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Chrysler Industrial HEMI questions.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Texas36, May 6, 2018.

1. Recently acquired a very clean and well maintained ‘56 331 from a friend of mine. The motor was used to start jet planes at a local airfield here in Houston.
    Does anyone have recommendations for a good street cam to use?

Also I read that the dist. is no good for a car because of the lack of an advance, but Ide really hate to not save the one that came on it. Its a nice dual point that looks practically brand new. Is it easy to add an advance to these? Hotheads makes the adapter to use a SBC dist. so if not Ill go that route.
    Im still new to engines in general so give me some slack if I dont make sense

IMG_7194.JPG IMG_7030.JPG

Sent from my iPhone using H.A.M.B.

2. Every time I see this motor I get excited...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J320AZ using Tapatalk

Texas36 likes this.
  3. tubman

tubman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The stock automotive distributor for these engines is a pretty nice dual point unit with a good working advance. They should be fairly common on the used market because a lot of guys replace them with aftermarket units, which is not really necessary if you keep a stocker in tip-top condition. I know it doesn't have the "WOW factor of a magneto, but they are pretty cool-looking old distributor. I think there is also some overlap between the low deck Chryslers (like your 331) and some high deck Dodges and DeSotos, so you should be able to find one.

4. mickeyc

mickeyc

chiro, 73RR, loudbang and 2 others like this.

5. Marty Strode

Marty Strode

The one I took out of an airport tug, was a 1956-354, ran great ! IMG_3097.JPG

6. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole

I'm wondering if you could make or adapt some kind of electronic module to handle the advance curve, with that distributor. Like what the Megasquirt people do.

loudbang and Texas36 like this.
  7. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods