Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Who's running external clutch slaves

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by model A hooligan, Apr 28, 2018.

1. Not really sure what the difference would be. As long as it's a stationary mount,why would it care where it's mounted? Besides the movement the trans will make with vibration

A little hard to bolt it to a Muncie.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2018
  2. Because the engine and trans will be pulled towards the crossmember when the slave pulls; movement will be dependent on the firmness of the rubber mounts.
    With no shifter and linkage to deal with on the right side, just make a mount off the tailhousing bolts; kinda like the mount on the T5 a couple posts back.

3. Yeah okay,I see your point. But the engine is bolted down I don't see how it would move. I understand your concept that you are saying though. I guess there could be some 'deflection' I guess is the word? I'm no engineer obviously

I'm hearing the speedway slave doesn't pull as much as the wilwood,bummer since it's twice the price

4. Looks like speedways pull type is .88 travel, the Howe pull is 1 1/8 and the wilwood is 1 1/4 but has the most complaints on leaking

5. mcsfabrication

mcsfabrication
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The Howe worked, but was on the edge of not having enough travel for me. I finally went with the Willwood even after reading the bad reviews. First two leaked within a week (bought mine through Summit) and they exchanged them both. Third one is in about a year now, still working, but noticed a drop of fluid just recently on the cylinder. I DO have a pretty aggressive clutch, but will replace with the Chevy truck push unit this time around.
    As mentioned here many times, your mileage may vary.