Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical ABS interior panel construction

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mr T body, Mar 18, 2018.

1. Mr T body

Mr T body
    Alliance Vendor
    from BHC AZ

The last part of the build of my wife's '31 coupe is putting an interior in it before a show she wants to take it to next month. There isn't money in the budget to have an upholsterer do it right now, so I'm doing what I can to make it presentable and give the upholsterer usable panels when that time comes.
    After reading a few threads about using ABS I decided to give it a shot. I kind of like the look and after researching different types of clips it keeps a somewhat original look. I've already done the easy panels for the doors and kick panels, so I'll be showing how I make the curved upper panels. This is my first attempt so if anyone has any feedback, by all means jump in. I've already made the left side so follow along as I make the right side.
    Here's the door and kick panels. I couldn't use the original style panel clips because of the thickness of the windlace, so starter researching clips. I've used them before on cars for wheelwell splash shields and are not only easy to install (and remove), but has a neat industrial look.
    [​IMG]
    The upper panels need to be bent and that's where it gets interesting. The rough panels are more easily cut with a cutoff wheel as the ABS tends melt back over cuts of thin blades. Below are the tools required to start.
    plastic1.jpg
    Painter's tape is perfect for this and you'll use a LOT of it to keep things organized. There's a little thinking required before you starting cutting plastic so take your time. The framing square is a necessity because you'll need to determine what your primary plane is and reference everything from that. You'll see as we get into it.

chop job likes this.
  2. Mr T body

Mr T body
    Alliance Vendor
    from BHC AZ