Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Can these rare Jimmy 6 Split manifolds be made to work on a 235 Chevy?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Baumi, Mar 13, 2018.

1. Baumi

Baumi
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

A friend offered me a set of old Ellis GMC 6 manifolds . I have a 55 Chevy with a 235 in it and I think they look extremely nice! I don't want to cut them up, that would be a shame, but maybe they can be made to fit my 235? What do you think?

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

2. oldolds

oldolds

I was always told the GMC engine was longer than the Chevy. I have no first hand knowledge that info is correct.

Baumi likes this.
  3. CNC-Dude

CNC-Dude

The port spacing and size isn't quite the same as the Stovebolt's, but people take the Stovebolt Fenton headers and weld and grind the ports to match the GMC heads, so i'm sure it can work the other way too.

Baumi likes this.
  4. Lucky dog...i hava en ellis 2 carb intake and those manifoldd would look right at home with my Jimmy.
    I had to split a 235 manifold ro work with mine.
    20180308_151935.jpg

kidcampbell71, Jet96 and Baumi like this.

5. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

If they are close at hand you might try laying a 235 exhaust/intake gasket over those manifolds to see how far off they are.

Baumi likes this.
  6. those are sexy
    mmmmmmmmm

Baumi likes this.
  7. Baumi

Baumi
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

If you are interested, just pm me your Email info I can forward it to René and tell him to send you some more details on the manifolds. I have never seen a set of these and i couldn't cut them up modify them anyways...

302GMC likes this.
  8. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

If you look closely at the pics 1wannaflattie posted you can see the misalignment of the 235 manifold ports to the head ports.