Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Building a 221 flathead

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by draggin49, Mar 8, 2018.

1. draggin49

draggin49

I know most people opt for larger cubic inch flatheads but was curious about specifically building the original 221 flathead .
    I picked up a car that has the original motor in place . It runs well but was debating on modifying it to make some extra power .
    I’m new to flatheads so I didn’t know if there was a reason you see less built 221’s aside from having less cubic inches .

Figured guys on here would know of some that have built them or could explain if it would even be worth doing

2. Petejoe

Petejoe
    from Zoar, Ohio

The 221 covers a lot of engineering changes from
    1932 thru 1937. The main thing I’d stay away from is the pour Babbitt vs the insert type main bearings.
    The 21 stud engines aren’t as smooth and powerful as the later engines. The later post 37 engines have more aftermarket goodies.
    Aftermarket parts for the early engines are rare and expensive.
    The 221’s can be found in lighter Hotrod’s vs heavier Hotrod coupes/sedans.
    If it were me I’d run a 221 but I’d definitely wouldn’t put any money in them.

http://www.vanpeltsales.com/FH_web/flathead_specs-85early.htm

Last edited: Mar 8, 2018
  3. Jimmy2car

Jimmy2car
    from No. Cal

Go to the Ford Barn
    Look up Lawrie.
    All questions will be answered,
    221 is good engine

4. patmanta

patmanta
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Woburn, MA
    1. MASSACHUSETTS HAMB

What year and body is the car, that would help to know.

If it were me, I'd swap in a later engine and put the 221 in a stripped down T, give it dual exhaust and maybe an extra carb.

But if you don't mind spending around twice the money on speed parts, you can build one up.

5. draggin49

draggin49

Car is a 1932 roadster , it’s got the original flathead v8 . I have a another motor (392 hemi)