Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Wiring a T85 with overdrive in a truck

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Chris, Mar 5, 2018.

1. hello. I have a decent BW T85 three speed transmission with an R-10 overdrive unit. I somewhat understand how these work...but originally there is a governer, kick down switch, cable operated lock out and the solenoid.

Has anyone ever put one of these into a car and just wired the solernoid to a toggle switch bypassing the governer and kick down switch? If so, how did you wire it? I am not an electrician at all, so sorry if this seems kind of dumb. I want to replace the 4 speed in my 1959 F-100 with this unit

Also, does anyone know how to test solernoids?

5B981C95-41ED-4ECA-AA76-E156AEE6253E.jpeg D5FED987-C523-4344-A8D1-7439828A3972.jpeg

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. FrozenMerc

FrozenMerc

I ran that same set up in my '51 F1 for quite a few years. Simple 12 V toggle switch on the dash providing a 12V powered wire to the solenoid. I would accelerate up to speed, hit the switch, take my foot off the gas, and the transmission would shift. Put my foot back on the gas, and turn the switch off. The transmission would stay in gear as long as there was a torque load. If you took your foot off the gas, or depressed the clutch, you would have to re-engage the switch or the transmission down shifted into 3rd automatically. I never left the switch on for long periods of time for fear of burning out the solenoid, although supposedly, you could.

Last edited: Mar 5, 2018
  3. It's easy to wire one bypassing all the controls, but they work better if you don't.

Hnstray and squirrel like this.
  4. J Twitero

J Twitero
    from Minnesota