Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical The beat box.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by KustomKreeps, Jan 26, 2018.

1. KustomKreeps

KustomKreeps

Im a total rookie at car audio and wouldn't mind a bit of advice if you fellas dont mind.
    Its for the 49 Hudson im working on. Want bluetooth as I carry all my music on my phone or stream spotify - so I guess what im going to feed the system isnt the best quality but well thats what I got. Dont need CD or radio. The head unit will be tucked out of sight and pretty much controlled by my phone or a tablet I plan to have mounted behind a custom fold down chrome dash speaker grill.

So a run down of whats happening so far for the elctrics to get an idea of the drain etc... American Auto Wire 22kit, 150 single wire alternator, Dakota Digital gauges, 2x 14" spal fans on a DD controller, Electric life shaved doors,Ridetech airpod, fuel pump, and then all the standard lighting & car electrics I guess.
    Unsure of battery but thinking trunk mounted. Had thought Optima but unsure.
    Hopeing the car will be quiet as its getting full new seals and lizard skin sound and heat inside and out.

My Buick I have 2x 6inch up front, 2x 6x9 at back then an amp and head unit (all pioneer). The car has a fair bit of creaks and whistles I guess even with new seals.The sound is OK but not awesome even when I play 300 or flac songs. Could be due to the ambient noises.
    Im thinking I wouldn't mind a sub in the Hudson as I have room in the trunk for one just behind the Rear seats. Its no biggie if I dont get one and its deemed better amp and speakers than a sub.

Im just unsure what to look for, what brands are good and what are just junk, what speakers & amp, and well every thing else.

With a sub and the four speakers do I need a 5channel amp?
    Do i need a sub box? The Hudson has a decent size trunk.

Was thinking this combo deal thats for headunit, 4 speakers, amp & sub.