Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Air/Fuel Ratio Wideband Kit

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 28 Ford PU, Jan 21, 2018.

1. 28 Ford PU

28 Ford PU
    from Upstate NY

I'm looking to purchase a AFR for my personal use and could use anybody recommendations. I've search the the topic but couldn't find anything recent most were 5-7 years ago and I would think the technology has changed in the last 5 years.

I'm not a techie car guy, Pertronix is as high tech I get so I don't want to plug into a laptop or data base monitor gizmo just a gauge and sensor $100-$200 range. Even a good used unit if someone has upgraded there toolbox.

Sent from my iPad using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

loudbang and chryslerfan55 like this.
  2. Joe H

Joe H

I am real happy with mine, I bought it last year. https://www.speedhut.com/gauge/GL258-AFWB-09/7/Standalone-Air-Fuel-Wideband-O2-gauge-8-5-18
    I was able to get it for $199 when they were on sale. I would still purchase one now knowing how much it helps the tune up. All it needed was power (+) ( - ), light hook-up, and a bung welded into the down pipe. The cable is a little thick so you might have to wrestle it around a little. I believe you can hook up to laptops and do other things with it, but I just use it as is. Speedhut use the newest O-2 sensors out there so replacements are everywhere. Watch out for the cheaper gauges, some use proprietary O2 sensors that cost as much as the gauge itself.
    You will be surprised how little adjustments to the carburetor make big changes to the air/fuel ratio. On mine, 250 inline 6 w/dual W-1 carters, just a .030" float drop will lean it out 1.5 points. A 1/16 turn of an idle screw can change it 1 point also. It's a lot of fun tinkering around with the carbs and timing trying to get that last little bit of fuel mileage or power.