Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1962 E100

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mooseless, Dec 4, 2017.

1. Mooseless

Mooseless

My first step into old cars, I’ve always been an old motorcycle guy. Picked up a 62 Econoline five window on trade from a local guy. It had been sitting for over a decade. He did some minor stuff to get it to roll and for some reason rattle canned it purple.
    I’m only a weekender on this project so progress has been pretty slow but my intent for now is to just get it running and driving down the street. My eventual list is pretty hefty but nothing too crazy; paint, replace some rusty bits and pieces, finish the interior and enjoy the heck out of it.
    I am new to old cars and have some basic knowledge but will probably ask advice from time to time and appreciate all responses and advice.

[​IMG]

2. Mooseless

Mooseless

First thing I did was remove the front bumper. I went back and forth and then I jacked it up and took it off.
    This last weekend I spent time trying to get it to start and run correctly. It was sputtering on start and would die under load/in gear. Tinkered with the carb some and found the choke was stuck open for multiple reasons. A little lubrication and that butterfly was flapping again.
    I ran out of time but suspect a vacuum leak is the culprit of my stall in gear. More next weekend.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  3. stangman05gt

stangman05gt
    from illinois

Cool old ride! Something about these I like!

Mooseless likes this.
  4. Gearhead Graphics

Gearhead Graphics
    from Denver Co

I've had a thing for those econos for a long time. Have yet to own one though. Cleaning the gunk out of that carb had to help. possibly low fuel delivery for your stall, or the vacuum leak like you suggested. Itll be a cool bike hauler in no time!

Mooseless likes this.

5. wvenfield

wvenfield

Great vehicle. I like purple but maybe not rattle canned.