Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods What axle choice for 47 Chevy sedan please?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Micks47, Jan 2, 2018.

1. Micks47

Micks47

I have a 47 Chevy Stylemaster with stock rear and front axles, running a 235 with twin carbs and split pipes. I have acquired a T5 transmission, so I guess I will be looking to change to open drive (unless anyone knows of a conversion kit to torque tube). Bearing in mind that I am in the UK and rear axles don't exactly grow on trees, what is the best choice of rear axle, as regards ideal width and ideal ratio? I already have a pair of 50 Chevy 5 stud wheels ready to throw on the back.

2. how a bout one from a 55-64 chevy?
    68-74 nova
    s10 4x4 may be a possibility

Torkwrench likes this.
  3. Fat47

Fat47
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I used a mid-80's IROC rear end in mine. Fit perfectly and it had Disc brakes. You will have to off set the Springs to the pads.

4. belair

belair

I put a 57 in my 48. Worked great. You will need to relocate the dowel and hole the locates the rear end. That's the only fab or aftermarket help you'll need. 55-57 are the all the same width, 57 has bigger bearings and a drain plug. Also the 57 will tend to have lower (numerically) gears because they went to 14 inch wheels and tires, while the 55-56 had 15s.

5. 0NE BAD 51 MERC

0NE BAD 51 MERC