Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 7.50-17 Firestone’s max wheel width

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by threedudesracing, Dec 27, 2017.

1. Anyone on here ever run a 7”wide wheel with 7.50-17 Firestone’s ??

2. jeffd1988

jeffd1988

3. gnichols

gnichols
    from Tampa, FL

As a general rule, I like the rim width to equal the tire's specs for tread width. It seems to look good that way and it doesn't spread the tire's beads out too wide. That should get you close, anyway. Gary

Elcohaulic likes this.
  4. I know the section width is about 8.25,hoping it would not look like side the walls are pulled away to bad from the bead of the rim. If anybody has any pictures it would help my decision making

5. Did the tire section width look good in relation to the rim bead ? Thanks

6. gnichols

gnichols
    from Tampa, FL

I'm no expert by any means, but here's how I determine if a tire will look good on the rim and work like it should. Its also the formula I use to get the fronts and rears to look like matched sets even when the wheels and tires have different sizes - as in bigs n littles. Tire diameters, ride heights versus axle heights, gear ratios, etc. also closely related to your tire choice and you should also be looking at those specs when shopping for wheels and tires. Looks and performance go hand in hand.