Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Physically lifting a V-8 engine with the proper tool ?

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by blazedogs, Dec 17, 2017.

1. nh-lead-man

nh-lead-man

SLING IT! I never lift a complete engine off a manifold. Yes they do it all the time. Does that make it ok? Not for me when I have $6 or $8k hanging over a 25K car or truck.

Bubba1955, chryslerfan55 and czuch like this.
  2. just you wait.....I'm going to look for that old chain S hook the old man made for the yard....

3. partsdawg

partsdawg
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Minnesota

Used to use the plate and lift engine/ trans combos out with a come-a-long chained to a rafter. That was back when rafters were made of real wood, tools were well built.
    I might have been a bit crazier back then.

4. Mike VV

Mike VV
    from SoCal

I'm also a Mechanical Engineer (Aerospace) by profession.
    While I know many do it all the time, without problem... My balls aren't big enough. Too many factors to take into account. Most carburetor mounting holes aren't deep enough. Cast iron manifold with good threads...yea.

Mike

jeffd1988 likes this.
  5. BamaMav

BamaMav
    from Berry, AL

First time I ever used one was to pull a 460 out of a E350 van chassis motor home. Had to hook it directly to the cherry picker, no room for a chain. I was puckered up when I was dragging it over the front bumper, but it held fine. I also used it pulling the 350 out of the Lincoln, it had a two barrel cast iron intake with only two carb studs. I was puckered up again, pulling engine and trans at the same time, but no problems even having to raise the engine up nearly as high as the cherry picker would lift. Put the 302 and AOD back in same car, aluminum intake but at least it had four carb studs.

Used to use a chain bolted to the exhaust bolts, but you had to pull the valve covers or they'd get bent up. Harder to balance that way, too.

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  6. cretin

cretin