Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Toploaders.3spd vs 4spd in a Buick

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Donuts & Peelouts, Dec 4, 2017.

1. Donuts & Peelouts

Donuts & Peelouts
    from , CA

I have a Buick Skylark I'm putting together and it is my primary project. [​IMG]
    Bought it with no engine and trans.
    Since it takes me a while to think and plan and research being this is my first build, I have decided on and have purchased an a 430 Buick for it.
    I'm now planning what to put behind it.

Lets just dream for a bit and not go the obvious route with the th400 or preferably a switch pitch 400. Help me understand what it would take to make this a stick car.

Pontiac was putting Ford Toploaders in their performance cars like the the gto, 421's, and firebirds I think. It was because of their strength.

So what's preferred for my set up a 4spd or a 3spd.

Any tips on what years and casting numbers i should look for?. And what I should not be looking for?

What about the bellhousing for my 430, what do I do thier aswell?

Thanks Guys.

Sent from my SM-J727T1 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. Black Panther

Black Panther
    from SoCal