Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical NEED NEW SHOP AIR COMPRESSOR

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by MIKE STEWART, Nov 30, 2017.

1. MIKE STEWART

MIKE STEWART

After 30 years of use - my 5 hp 60 gal. single stage air compressor locked up and quit. This USA made compressor was some what under sized for my needs - but at $450 from Lowes about 30 years ago - I can not complain.

Shopping for a 2 stage - 80 gal unit prefer USA made if this even exist today. I am a hobby builder - need to up grade to run a sand blaster a few times per year. Main use is power the air tools and spray gun. Any recommendations?

Thanks

2. 31Apickup

31Apickup

After alot of research, I bought a Quincy 2 stage, very happy with it.

Sent from my SGH-T399 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app

3. vtx1800

vtx1800
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Check Craigslist if you are willing to take a shot at a used unit. I got lucky a couple of years ago and stumbled on a 80 gallon, five horse two stage with a much bigger motor and compressor that my 60 gallon five horse single stage. Paid $300, gave the old one to my brother in law that farms, it wasn't worn out but it was tired, good enough for what he uses it for.

I got lucky, maybe you will too if....and only if you have a little time to research the used market.

4. DDDenny

DDDenny
    from oregon

Campbell Hausfield from a compressor distributor not a big box store.
    Get one with belt drive and cast iron motor.

5. V8 Bob

V8 Bob
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

X2^^^^

55styleliner and MIKE STEWART like this.
  6. greybeard360

greybeard360